What To Believe….? The Genius of Online Trolls

greenwich-village-1966

The West Village back in the late 80s early 90s. The street was packed every weekend, almost made it impossible to go through. It was the best of times.

Once upon a time in the very early 90s, there really wasn’t a free internet where everyone who’s anyone can troll online, anonymously, make up names and be someone other than who they were every time they looked in the mirror.

We actually went out to the movies, played billiards, biked ride and enjoyed the free entertainment at Union Square Park. Late night conversations at a diner were always the fun past times.

Magazines where always my favorite thing especially in the early 2000’s after I broke up with my ex. I needed an outlet. I was looking for something where women like me thought the same and spoke the same, with that inner conviction. The conviction of how we didn’t take shit from anyone. Our strength exuded from self-confidence and not from being an outright bitch (anyone remember those days). If you spoke up you were a bitch, you were considered difficult, a hot head, a troublemaker.

I couldn’t find a magazine that catered to my needs, fetish, domination, sexual, erotic, smart, sassy, strong yet sensitive, romantic and even loving. So I created my own magazine. Kink~E Magazine! As the years went on and my magazine went through several transitions, it has found its place with all types of authors, from erotic to thrillers and everything else in between.

The BDSM world has grown. A new phase of FEMDOM where woman are coming in droves saying they are dominas but most are not. Men who say they are male slaves but only looking for sex. meetinpersonMatch making sites with people looking for relationships but, yet, somehow got trapped in some part of Africa where they need you to transfer a large sum of money into their account, after having an established online love for about two weeks (LOL).

Everything was either black or white.

And everything still is. The age of the internet has made people truly stupid. The trolls are growing more than the people who actually use the internet to find resourceful info. The age of fake websites, passed on as legible news media almost like the word of God. All you need is one stupid person to share the “breaking news site” and all of the sudden, like roaches the website now has credibility by spreading lies.

8

It is has gotten out of control and quite honestly, there’s no going back. You can’t stop a person from buying a site and posing as a news worthy source, however, you as the person can make a choice on whether or not you decide to share it.

The Internet is not the only source. There is still a thing called the library. There is still a thing called books the one printed on paper. Wikipedia is not a real source according to most colleges and you can’t use it as a source on your final paper or any paper for that matter.

On top of that, you have people who believe most celebs are demons, and if you slow down a video of Rihanna you can see her eyes changing or they’re black, etc. etc. Where does this information come from?

bustedtees_355edb0c-74c1-4688-95a4-56c08de2Well when your life is wrapped up with TMZ, Us Weekly, Star Magazine and The Enquirer which is at the bottom of the totem poles of rags, I’m sure you will believe just about anything.

Have you ever logged on to facebook and checked out the feed from your friends and as you’re scrolling down, not really paying attention as to who put up what post, there will be one post which will stop you in your tracks and wonder who posted that? Scroll up and wonder why that person, you considered reasonably smart would post something so stupid. Did they do their homework to find out if the post was credible? Probably not.

Imagine this….take a minute and look through your friends list and imagine deleting every person who you believe were on the level of stupid, how many people do you believe you will be left it.

Sad isn’t it.

Until then.

Loves and Hugs,

Marabelle Blue~

6 Comments

  1. March 29, 2016 at 12:02 am

    True, very sad. I’m pleased to know that I’m not the only one that has these thoughts about social media. Wonderful write, a pleasure to read. Please take good care and enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia

    • March 29, 2016 at 12:09 am

      Thank you Mia. As they say great minds think alike we should also stick together ❤️

      • March 29, 2016 at 12:34 am

        You’re most welcome. I completely agree with your commentary, I feel like I’m looking in the mirror!

      • March 29, 2016 at 12:37 am

        You know sometimes I do feel alone. It’s scary to share deep stuff like that and then I have to remember the beginning when i started my magazine was to bring like minded people together.

      • March 29, 2016 at 1:01 am

        I still think there are a few of us out there. I believe social media has added to the deterioration and destruction of the English language, also socialization. I met with a professional the other day and they used the word “conversate” in a sentence, I was shocked! Maybe it’s just me and it’s more common than I realize. Oh gosh, I’m becoming my mother, ha-ha!

      • March 29, 2016 at 1:39 am

        LMAO – I’m beyond my mother in some conversations. I look at her sometimes and say, “she didn’t just say that”…but it’s my mom. Everyone else doesn’t have an excuse. I noticed too when you go to college you have a different understanding on how to convey your thoughts. I thank all of the writing courses I took along with English literature. Some were boring as shit but I learned a lesson, it’s called, speak proper English and gain respect from your peers. 😉


Leave a Reply

