Step 2 of the 12 Steps “Came to believe…restored to sanity…” NYC Fire Selfie Post

I’ve been up most of the night with one of my dogs who had her first (and last) liter of yorkies. All five are doing great!

With that good news being said, I have to talk about something that seem to be going viral for ALL the wrong reasons.

fake selfie nyc fire

While I don’t dispute the fact that it’s rather tasteless to take pictures in front of a devastating incident that should not have occurred, what I’m flabbergasted is how people are not only spreading around this photo BUT believing that they were taking a selfie while the fire was consuming the building.

Now I live in NYC. I was sitting in front of my computer working when my #Headline app sent me a notification about a fire in the East Village. Not too long after that I tuned to the news and was astonished at the blaze and how the water was not only putting out the fire but taking down the building as it was happening. My thoughts ran as I wondered who was trapped in there, people’s belongings and memories now part of a burning dust. I cannot even imagine nor do I want to. It’s very painful.

That being said, here comes this picture of the selfie where now people have the opportunity to express their hate towards a group of people they don’t even know. Let alone passing hate, but check out the picture clearly. The fire was put out by 6PM there were no flames. This picture clearly taken in the early eve is still showing flames that were not present at that time. And it there were flames they certainly weren’t shooting out at this time.

Second, why was this picture posted? No one begs that question. Lets take the focus off Con Edison for a bit and let’s focus on our hate and anger at people we will probably never see in this lifetime for I”m sure they are most likely foreigners on their journey to NYC probably thinking lets take a picture in front of an ambulance and nothing more of it.

Con Edison people were at the 121 Second Avenue, apparently doing an inspection on a contractors work in the basement. No sooner did they leave the building, the owner and contractor were at the building because someone said it smelled like gas and then the gas explosion occurred.

Where does Con Edison stand in all of this? Why didn’t they smell gas? I mean wouldn’t the smell be present at the time they were inspecting the building. NO one is asking these questions. Instead lets focus on this selfie.

Here’s my post on FB:

“Everyone is sharing this ‪#‎selfie‬ ‪#‎nyc‬ ‪#‎fire‬ post. It’s not real. If anyone watching the news knows the fire was put out at daylight. Smh wow people will spread lies faster than good things.”

Once I put up the picture calling it a fake, one of my friends responds (a real friend, someone I know) talking about how the lights of the fire trucks among other forms of EMS on the scene created a light that may have looked like a fire. To follow someone chimes in on my comment saying “good things, people are missing, etc. etc.”

This reminds me of when you apply your own emotions to what you’re reading.

Example:

“how are you”
“oh I’m good, just busy here studying for a test”
“oh sorry I bothered you sheesh”
“oh you’re not bothering me, just studying, I really need to pass this test”
“Well let me delete your number and never bother you again”

OH wait this was a similar conversation I had with the SAME person that accused me of saying that good things happened in this fire.

Ummmm do I know you? More importantly, do I want to know you? That answer would be a quick no.

Yes I have been at fault for putting up things that weren’t real but lesson learned not to be so quick to share unless it’s something comical.

Second step, coming to believe that something greater than ourselves COULD restore us to sanity.

It wasn’t until maybe my third year of sobriety, someone had shared and pointed out the word “could”.

Could being the operative word, as in a choice. People make choices (people of sound mind) to be restored to sanity. Which simply means, repeating the same mistakes and expecting different results.

The internet is filled with tons of shit, fake sites with fake news that people just hop on the wagon to believe. “Oh it’s on the internet, it’s real.”

Granted there are truths on the internet. This is the way most people do research accompanied with the library. If anyone is doing an important paper for school and studying for their masters degree, how stupid would it be if they solely relied on the internet.

Here’s another thing that applies to the second step, (note to self) stop arguing with mindless assholes that spend all day posting these fake news site and believing that’s it real.

To them, it is real. Perhaps it’s a need they have internally to satisfy some form of level of insanity they have in their lives in order for them to feel sane.

I don’t know what goes on in anyone’s brain and quite honestly I really don’t care. I’ve got my own brain and ideas to work with I think that’s enough LOL. On top of that I can’t even concern myself with people who might “hate” me, too much to incur in my wonderful life. I have bigger fish to fry.

The insane part is arguing with said type of people who are overly sensitive over postings and then feel the need to argue with those that may find something false or something that’s humorous that’s not humorous in their eyes. Just the other day a similar argument occurred when a good author friend of mine, his wife, posted a funny on his wall. While I totally got the joke, this sparked an argument with a woman who was offended, because of self image.

The picture wasn’t about self image it was about a feeling that the pictured depicted in the person’s face.

Over her head and way over the top. Instead of something being funny, it became an unnecessary argument.

Look I don’t proclaim to have all the answer, shit, if that were the case it would be brain overload. However, I do have some form of sense of self, of humor and not to take anything to literal when it comes to online bullshit. Do I see things I don’t agree with or like, sure. But does that give me the right to attack the person that put it up. I can simply said, I don’t agree or better yet say nothing. Moving on. #ByeGirl #ByeFelicia #GirlBye

The trolls have their own outlet in creating fictitious stories to appease their own insanity. That doesn’t mean we need to participate an help them.

But again, second step….”A power greater than ourselves COULD restore us to sanity.”

The power greater than yourself is your choice too.

My prayers go out to those who have been affected by the fire in the East Village. Lets not forget them either while spreading that stupid selfie picture.

Carry on my friends.

Until then.

MB~

4 Comments

  1. anarchy0029 said,

    March 29, 2015 at 10:05 pm

    A very ‘on-point’ discussion about sensitivity and people who create fake posts. Lately, there has come a time of people who had either looked for what probabbly makes sense their theory, as oppose what is factual, and in addtion, a number of people who are really over-sensitive and overreactive to something that is humorous. I can’t find a better solution but to disregard them, as for some with self-image issues, they need to seek help and counseling. Great post.

    • March 29, 2015 at 10:07 pm

      Agree on so many levels. If people can see past their issues and practice acceptance, can you imagine the possibilities.

  2. April 1, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    […] I closed the show with the disturbing “trend” that took place after the fire in the East Village which made me question where are the priorities of people today. For more on this blog you can read here https://marabelleblue.wordpress.com/2015/03/29/step-2-of-the-12-steps-came-to-believe-restored-to-sa… […]

  3. April 9, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    […] Sadly, because of the last two years, living in an uncomfortable situation, I have taken a lot of the focus off my business and focused on stupid and mindless things, like arguing with people who spend all day (literally) on facebook putting up every post known to man, like fake news (as I spoke about in this post). […]


Leave a Reply

