My friend Steve

Death. Final isn’t it. I was never very good at handling death. Didn’t matter who it was, person, animal, celebrity, baby…I just cannot deal.

I just found out tonight a dear friend of mine Steve, who helped put the Music Korner together for my magazine passed away last night. I have been inconsolable. I found out on my way to school, cried the whole time on the train and cried coming back home. I’m sure my eyes have taken on a new shape.

What can I say? When something like this happens, I begin to question my level of  commitment of friendship. Was I a good enough friend? Did I do everything I could do to reach out. 

I become so consumed with the magazine, sitting in front of my computer and making sure that everything I do is done to perfection and then…death.

The one thing I have learned but not happily accepted I have no control over. 

I am filled with extreme grief. Steve was someone that talked really fast when he was excited about something. Every new idea he came up with for the music korner, he was on the phone with me. I don’t know anyone who was as dedicated and committed to that part of the magazine. He cared so much about the pictures he took and getting people involved to write music reviews. He tried to get me to go to every show so that I wouldn’t miss out on the next great band. 

Steve had a good heart and a good soul. He put others first before he put himself and when he needed to put himself first bet your ass he did.

Amazing how he was filled with an assortment of music but right now the only sound I want to hear is silence. 

I will miss you a great deal. Your spirit will live on through all of us. 

2 Comments

  1. Melissa said,

    February 2, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Beautiful write up. Steve was a wonderful person. I remember the first time I met him, it was his ass, not his face that I came in contact with first. He was showing everyone the OFNR tat on his ass. He has made me laugh, cry (sometimes at the same time!) and was always very sweet. I will never forget the lessons he taught me and his generous nature. I will miss photoging side by side with him at shows. He will live on and watch over all of us. RIP Steve and keep rocking!

    • February 2, 2012 at 6:19 pm

      And I have a pic with his ass too!!! Boy that was some night. We were both there LOL. He was such a character. I have to go home and read my notes, all of his ideas I want to be able to incorporate.


Leave a Reply

